Leymah Gbowee, Tawakul Karman and Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Share Nobel Peace Prize

Three women, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee of Libya and Tawakaul Karman of Yemen, are splitting the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize. 

President Sirleaf is the first elected woman president in Africa. In addition to insuring billions of dollars in Liberian debt were forgiven, she’s brought peace to a country ravished by fourteen years of war.

Leymah Gbowee heads the Women for Peace organization, which has united Christian and Muslim women to stand up to Liberian warlords.

Tawakul Karman founded Women Journalists Without Chains, and has been a vocal and powerful opponent to the policies of Yemeni President Ali Abdullah Saleh.

Source: New York Times, “Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Three Activist Women” by By Alan Cowell, Laura Kasinof and Adam Nossitter, October 7, 2011.

Left, Leymah Gbowee in September; center: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the Liberian president, on Friday; right: Tawakul Karman in Sana, Yemen, on Friday.

Above image taken from today’s New York Times, with the following photo credit: Left: Chester Higgins Jr./The New York Times; center: Jane Hahn for the New York Times; right:Yahya Arhab/EPA

By [E] Selena MacIntosh*

Selena MacIntosh is the owner and editor of Persephone Magazine. She also fixes it when it breaks. She is fueled by Diet Coke, coffee with a lot of cream in it, and cat hair.

2 replies on “Leymah Gbowee, Tawakul Karman and Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Share Nobel Peace Prize”

Leave a Reply