Middlemarch Madness

Middlemarch Madness III: Author Run-off Results

Which characters are making it through to bracket nominations? Find out after the cut. 

Anne Bishop

Surreal SaDiablo

Anne McCaffrey

Moreta, Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern

Christopher Paolini


CJ Cherryh

Illisidi, Foreigner

Diana Wynne Jones

Ann, Hexwood

E.L. Konigsburg

Claudia, From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Garth Nix


George R. R. Martin

Daenerys Tagaryen

J.K. Rowling

Luna Lovegood

Jacqueline Carey

Phèdre nó Delaunay

Jane Austen

Elinor Dashwood

Juliette Marillier


Katherine Neville

Catherine Velis

Kristin Cashore


Lois McMaster Bujold


Margaret Atwood

Offred of The Handmaid’s Tale

Marion Zimmer Bradley


Neal Stephenson


Neil Gaiman


Rick Riordan

Annabeth Chase

Robert Jordan

Nynaeve al’Meara

Robin McKinley


Susan Cooper

Jane Drew

Tamora Pierce

Keladry of Mindelan

Terry Goodkind


Terry Pratchett

Nanny Ogg

William Shakespeare


*Three ties were decided with a coin toss.

By [E] Selena MacIntosh*

Selena MacIntosh is the owner and editor of Persephone Magazine. She also fixes it when it breaks. She is fueled by Diet Coke, coffee with a lot of cream in it, and cat hair.

8 replies on “Middlemarch Madness III: Author Run-off Results”

Aw, this is the first year I’ve been able to appreciate Tiffany Aching, and she didn’t make it through! I’d read other Pratchett, but I just started with the Wee Free Men recently, and I’m sad that just when I could pull for her, Tiffany is out. Also sad Menolly didn’t make it, she’s about my favorite.

I am delighted that Sunshine and Keladry made it through though! I wasn’t expecting either of them to win, so I’m excited.

Leave a Reply